To Congressman Lewis

US Congressman Ron Lewis
1002 Center Street Suite 300
Bowling Green, KY 42101

Dear Congressman Lewis,

I am a new Kentuckian to your district having moved here from Massachusetts two years ago. I am a registered nurse employed at The Medical Center and feel compelled to write you after reading your Committee on Government Reform report entitled, "Everything Secret Degenerates: The FBI's Use of Murderers As Informants." You and your fellow Committee members are to be commended for bringing to light what was going on. It took a great deal of courage, tenacity, and perseverance to root out the ugly truth of corruption; and all the more laudable considering obstacles you encountered. Please know that your efforts mattered. They mattered for everyone but perhaps most poignantly for "the little guy." The corruption occurring within the FBI, judiciary, and law enforcement was a pox on them all, and it created significant repercussions for ordinary citizens — not just the big well-known cases in the headlines.

One such "ordinary citizen" was Joseph F. Labriola. He was having lunch one day in a restaurant and was arrested for the murder of a Massachusetts informant. Unfortunately for him, he had the same name as a Massachusetts mob associate and was indicted by Grand Jury testimony given solely by Detective William Bergin of the Massachusetts State Police (the same William Bergin documented in your Committee Report). He was subsequently convicted of murdering the informant based on "hitman" lingo used at trial by Detective Bergin, despite the fact the Joseph Labriola had no criminal record whatsoever. The trial judge instructed the jury that there was "no direct evidence," yet he was sentenced to life at hard labor without the possibility of parole, and he was sent to the infamous Walpole State Prison.